Log in

The Little Review
Making No Compromises With the Public Taste
Most Recent Entries 
On an Houre-glasseCollapse )

Friday started warm and turned progressively cooler, especially as the rain moved through. Paul had to go to the office for a bit, so I finished my review of "Year of Hell, Part II" until he got home for lunch. I had a bunch of other work to do, so it was a quiet afternoon with cats nudging us for attention.

We had dinner with my parents, then came home and watched the superb Hamilton's America on PBS. Now we're catching up on The Graham Norton Show (the one with Sam Neill and Ewan McGregor plus the one with Daniel Radcliffe, Justin Timberlake, and Anna Kendrick). From Nightscape at Longwood Gardens last night:

Night LightCollapse )
Friday, 21st October 2016 12:26 am - Greetings from Winterthur and Longwood
Cheryl, Paul, and I spent Thursday in the Brandywine Valley. We started at Winterthur, where we had a picnic in the Enchanted Woods, visited exhibits on Embroidery: The Language of Art, Made in the Americas: The New World Discovers Asia, and the wonderful Lasting Impressions: The Artists of Currier & Ives, and walked through the fall gardens, which had lots of colorful leaves, berries, and autumn crocuses which none of us had ever seen before.

Then we went to Longwood Gardens, where by day we walked through the woods to the meadow, then the harvest display, the model trains, and the conservatory by daylight. We had dinner in the restaurant there while the sun was setting and then walked through most of the gardens again to see Nightscape, the light and sound display both in the conservatory and throughout the grounds. We hit some traffic on the way home due to construction but it was a really gorgeous day!

In the Brandywine ValleyCollapse )
Thursday, 20th October 2016 12:19 am - Poem for Thursday and Great Falls Color
VowelsCollapse )

Madeline is in Los Angeles for her friend's sister's funeral, having gotten up before dawn to take a shuttle to BWI. So it is quiet around here, though I am still having a busy week because tomorrow we're taking the afternoon and evening to go to gardens in Pennsylvania. My desktop hard drive is almost full -- it wouldn't let me run half my programs this morning -- so I did a lot of file rearranging. It was unseasonably warm, so we went to Great Falls to see the changing leaves and herons:

Autumn by the RiverCollapse )

We stopped at the Bethesda Co-op on the way home to get wine and noodles so we could have Thai food for dinner. We watched this week's Blindspot, which the network said would be less violent this season since it's on earlier but it's been quite violent so far, and then we caught up on Versailles because if I'm going to look at a selfish, vicious, womanizing tyrant with delusions of godhood on my television, it's not going to be in a presidential debate. We caught the end of the Cubs win!
Wednesday, 19th October 2016 12:06 am - Poem for Wednesday and Renaissance Falconry
In Memory of My MotherCollapse )

Paul had to go into the office on Tuesday because they're moving the cubicles around, something that's become fairly uncommon now that most of his division is overseas so nearly everyone works from home. So I had the house to myself and could listen to last night's Broadway concert for Hillary Clinton while I worked. Maddy went to school to try to arrange her interrupted schedule, but she may have to miss three weeks and join a new group when she gets back from California.

Tuesday was the anniversary of Molly's death and Maddy wanted to get a tattoo in honor of her, so after school she went to Kensington and got a triquetra inked above her wrist. She leaves for L.A. very early Wednesday. We had honey mustard chicken for dinner and took her to CVS for travel essentials around watching The Flash and Agents of SHIELD, which I'm quite enjoying this season because of Draco Malfoy and Ghost Rider respectively. Maryland Renaissance falconry:

Raptors at the RenfaireCollapse )
Tuesday, 18th October 2016 12:12 am - Poem for Tuesday and Renfaire Fun
Big Bend National Park Says No to All WallsCollapse )

Monday was all about chores -- getting Maddy to school (they are letting her take a two-week leave of absence), stopping at AC Moore for a box for the hat I got at the Renfaire yesterday that I'm getting for my birthday, going to the food store, folding a massive amount of laundry while catching up on Sunday's Westworld and Madam Secretary.

We took Maddy to the mall after school so she could look for a dress for the funeral and stopped at CVS with her; eventually we all had ravioli for National Pasta Day and watched Supergirl, which had some good stuff but the cast changes make me very sad. Timeless was okay this week but needs more women not famous because of famous men. From the Renfaire:

MDRFCollapse )
Monday, 17th October 2016 12:58 am - Poem for Monday and Renaissance Festival Again
Fame Is a Fickle FoodCollapse )

I had a very up and down Sunday. Much of it was spent at the Maryland Renaissance Festival, our last visit for the season, where we had spectacular weather and despite enormous crowds got to see everything we wanted in decent seats, though the lunch lines were extremely long and the friends we'd hoped to meet there all ended up having family obligations that kept them away.

During the late afternoon falconry show, though, we got a phone call from Maddy at work. Her best friend's older sister died earlier in the day and she was already frantically making plans to fly to California for the funeral, causing a huge disruption in her new work and school schedule on top of how upset she is feeling for her friend (the anniversary of her mom's death is this week, too).

The rest of the afternoon and evening involved a lot of running around, getting Maddy from work, throwing together dinner, and half-watching Once Upon a Time and Masters of Sex while taking out trash, feeding cats, doing laundry, etc. Maddy is flying out very early Wednesday so it is going to be a crazy couple of days here. Some photos from the Renfaire earlier in the day:

Around the RenaissanceCollapse )
Sunday, 16th October 2016 12:16 am - Poem for Sunday, Family and Friends
PennsylvaniaCollapse )

Great but very full Saturday: Drove to Hanover with Paul, went out to lunch with his parents, then spent the afternoon with them and their friends the Urbans from Connecticut who came to visit them for a couple of days. (Did not expend much time or energy keeping up with the horrible Maryland-Minnesota game.)

Drove back toward Gaithersburg, had CPK with Kay and her family for her birthday, went back to her house for cake and ice cream. Got home, went to get gas and Maddy. Watched the Cubs hit a grand slam, now watching the mock debate on SNL which is so much more enjoyable than the real one. In pics:

CelebrationsCollapse )
Saturday, 15th October 2016 12:37 am - Poem for Saturday, Year of Hell, National Zoo Pandas
The BearCollapse )

After getting Maddy to school, I spent the rest of the morning working on a review of Voyager's "Year of Hell" and enjoying the gorgeous weather. It was thus an uneventful day until afternoon, when on the way to pick her up we stopped at Petco for kitty litter and Michael's next door for their big fall sale.

Maddy decided to make caramel apples for dessert, though the caramel didn't stick to the apples very well (still tasted good which is all I care about but she likes them to look pretty). We watched the Blindspot we missed earlier in the week, plus some Bones. From the National Zoo on Thursday:

Panda FamilyCollapse )
Friday, 14th October 2016 12:22 am - Poem for Friday and Pre-Boo at the Zoo
The OakCollapse )

I have had a really good but really full Thursday and I am now behind on absolutely everything! After a morning of getting work done and getting Madeline to school, I went downtown with Paul, who had half a day off, to the National Zoo to meet Annmarie and see the animals. The curators were setting up for Boo at the Zoo in a couple of weeks around Halloween, so we also got to see some of the decorations. Three of the four pandas were very active, as were the elephants, the sea lions, the orangutan with new baby, and most of the small mammals.

October ZooCollapse )

We ate lunch at the zoo and dropped Annmarie off at the Metro before heading out of the city to pick up Maddy from school and drive to College Park to meet Adam for dinner and bring him some paperwork. We went to the excellent Indian restaurant Rasoi on Baltimore Avenue and shared vegetarian dishes. Then we drove home, dropped Maddy off at the mall so she could go to the movies with friends -- it was her only night off work this week -- and came home for this nail-biter of a Nationals-Dodgers game which has had many ups and downs and still has a lot of time left!
Thursday, 13th October 2016 12:11 am - Poem for Thursday and Great Falls Heron
fern scentCollapse )

Wednesday was Yom Kippur, which I observed in spirit instead of in synagogue (and without fasting, since I had to drive Maddy to school before 9 a.m. and I get headachy and shaky on an empty stomach). I did go with Paul and my parents to their friend Ruth's house to break the fast along with the Goldmans and other friends, many of whom I haven't seen in months though I see most of them on Facebook, so that was truly delightful even though we discussed the two forbidden topics, politics and baseball vs. football.

It was otherwise an uneventful day during which I got neither enough work nor enough chores done, though I did take a walk to enjoy the weather. Just about every part of my body made me sorry that I ate Taco Bell yesterday, so I will not be gaining any more weight from that, at least! We got home in time for Designated Survivor, whose characters I like but I wish they'd move a little more quickly on the who and why -- in the real world I'd expect lots of hysteria and rioting by now. From Great Falls this month:

Canal BirdCollapse )
This page was loaded Oct 22nd 2016, 11:45 am GMT.