?

Log in

No account? Create an account
The Little Review
Making No Compromises With the Public Taste
Welcome To The Little Review's Guestbook 
 
Welcome to The Little Review. Feel free to leave a comment -- it will be screened so that only I can see it. Please read my profile page if you want more information about me, this journal or my web page.

Please note: Due to a huge increase in spam, I have had to limit comments to registered LiveJournal users. If you wish to contact me and you are not a LiveJournal user, please read the mirror of this journal at Blogger.
photos
Signatures 
Wednesday, 23rd July 2008 08:58 pm (UTC) - Your T&D writing :)
Anonymous
Hi :)
I just read your T&D page and its so true! I just felt i had to say something because its that good! Especially the bit about it being an unfinished fairytale and Jayne saying they were in love for Bolero. just really brilliant thanks so much :)
love Becky
xxx
Thursday, 24th July 2008 05:15 am (UTC) - Re: Your T&D writing :)
Thanks -- wow, I'm blushing, I wrote that so long ago and now they're both married to and have children with other people and I read their second autobiography, the one in which they said John Hennessy took liberties in the first to sell books marketing the fairy tale...I haven't ever fallen for another skating couple, though, not even Klimova and Ponomarenko who seem to have lived out that fairy tale and are married and coaching together instead of living on separate continents!
Tuesday, 2nd September 2008 03:42 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
What a perceptive piece on Torvill and Dean!
I must live on a desert island, how else do I explain
my joy at finding this level sensitivity in print?
All I really wanted, though, was discovering the
name of the music piece (other than Bolero) they used
in one of their outstanding choreographies.
I live on remembered beauty.
Sunday, 12th October 2008 03:45 pm (UTC) - Re: Hanover Shoe Farm photo
Thank you so much! I don't even follow skating these days. It makes me cynical.
Monday, 8th September 2008 07:16 pm (UTC) - Hanover Shoe Farm photo
Anonymous
Hi, I found a great photo of a horse at the Hanover Shoe Farm and I was wondering if I have permission to use it on www.paadventure.com, a travel blog for the Pennsylvania Tourism Office. If you can email me at amcfadden@r-effects.com I would appreciate it!
thanks,
Mandy
Saturday, 11th October 2008 05:24 pm (UTC) - Star Trek Books
Anonymous
I just read your review about buying Star Trek books for the Christmas season. Here is an recent unauthorized book you may have missed, The Ferengi Bible.

Star Trek fans are familiar with the Rules of Acquisition, familiar quips of wisdom from a purported Ferengi Bible. Incomplete versions have been published, but for the first time we are now proud to publish, complete and unabridged, The Ferengi Bible, The Complete Rules of Acquisition. Not only can you find all 285 Rules, but all 900 Major and Minor Judgments and the 10,000 Considered Opinions. Written by the master himself, Grand Nagus Gint, The Ferengi Bible was discovered in a data crystal lodged in a meteorite found by a fisherman near Togiak in southwestern Alaska.

The Ferengi Bible is available from Amazon.com for $19.95.

From the Grand Nagus.
Sunday, 12th October 2008 03:44 pm (UTC) - Re: Star Trek Books
Thanks -- hope Pocket Books doesn't come down on your heads!
Thursday, 25th February 2010 04:33 am (UTC) - T&D
Anonymous
Hi Michelle, I was 20 when I saw T&D skate to Bollero in 84. I thought it was amazing then. They kept us wondering if they were a couple because it maintains that theatrcal spell when we watch the show. But even if they were never in love, when I watched the replay of Bolero on youtube the other night I cried. Not because it was so romantic but because I felt I was seeing the perfect mixture of skating choreography and talent and music and costume. I feel that way when I see a full moon - like every once in a while we see a little magic in the world. That music is haunting and the way it has two parts- a basic rhythem that drives it slowly along and give it structure. And then the melody above it that allows for all kinds of creative, more free-flowing choreography. And Dean caught that lightning in a bottle - he choreographed wonderfully to both parts of that song. Sometimes I look at all the little creative pieces and think how artistically strong that was. But I do not know the story behind Bolero and I never saw 10, so sometimes I just watch it and think "in some fairytale a lake freezes solid and a pair of swans came up with this dance on the ice." They may not have been in love but the truth is they created some magic. Thanks for letting me express this, Bev
Saturday, 27th February 2010 01:55 am (UTC) - Re: T&D
I was 17. I have three different versions on video/DVD (Europeans, Worlds, the Russian All-Stars DVD) and nothing tops that Olympic performance. There's really been nothing like it since -- not even their own comeback.
Monday, 22nd March 2010 09:52 pm (UTC) - Pictures at Mount Vernon
Anonymous
Thanks for visiting Mount Vernon! I adore the photos you took of the lambs and wonder if you wouldn't mind sharing them with us and allowing us to use them in the future (the ones without people). You really got some good ones, and we're always looking for nice shots of our babies!

Thanks for your consideration,
Emily Dibella
VP, Marketing
Mount Vernon (edibella@mountvernon.org)
Monday, 22nd March 2010 09:56 pm (UTC) - Re: Pictures at Mount Vernon
I'd be happy to -- I will write to you!
Tuesday, 5th October 2010 01:57 pm (UTC) - Alberta Watson
Anonymous
Hello,

I've just stumbled across your post where you said you miss Alberta as Madeline, in this new Nikita. I soo agree! Just not watching the new Nikita, is like a version for pre-teens of that cult series. Well, I thought you could enjoy this YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/AllAboutAlberta
That's all :)
Warm regards
Wednesday, 6th October 2010 03:46 pm (UTC) - Re: Alberta Watson
Thank you! I haven't kept up with Watson's career terribly faithfully since La Femme Nikita went off the air, I shall make sure to catch up. I don't love the new one but any show with four awesome women will keep my attention even if it's not the original...
This page was loaded Dec 17th 2017, 5:39 pm GMT.