photos

Greetings from Hanover

We left home on a rainy Sunday morning and drove to Hanover, where the sun shone the whole time we were there, though we were mostly indoors visiting Paul's parents, eating lunch and dessert, then skyping with our kids and my parents. They had just talked to our niece and her toddler, and are making plans to see one of their siblings in a little over a week.

We stopped at Giant to grab stuff for dinner, after which we watched Wellington Paranormal and Dead Pixels, both of which were laugh-out-loud funny, then some more Wallander, which is more dark and more sad than I was expecting -- for some reason I thought it was more action-y, less personal suffering. A couple of pics from Hanover and a couple of a mom and baby bird:

2021-08-01 16.30.42
Collapse )
green little review

Greetings from Poolesville

Saturday was a gorgeous, not-too-hot day with a breeze, so after lunch we went to Homestead Farm to pick peaches and blackberries and also to visit the animals -- there are a pair of donkeys now as well as the alpaca and the goats, pigs, and chickens that we usually see. We walked to the orchard around the pond, where we also saw frogs, turtles, and a heron.

Then we went to the McKee-Beshers Wildlife Management Area, which has several fields of sunflowers. This time we visited one we hadn't seen before, which is about a half mile from the parking lot through a wetlands and then past a cornfield, so there were many more frogs among water lilies and hibiscus, plus the first monarchs of the season and lots of bees.

2021-07-31 15.08.52
Collapse )


We had dinner with my parents out on their deck to enjoy the beautiful weather -- we brought peach cobbler Paul made with some of the peaches we picked -- then we came home and are now bingeing Wallander, which we thought we'd seen before but we only saw the early episodes (Branagh is great, the writing seems quite dated, Hiddleston is so young!).
lrpenguin

Poem for Saturday and Canal Frogs

Collapse )

Friday was quite warm and sticky, not very eventful. I did some chores, watched some Olympics, mostly swimming and tennis, and took a couple of walks -- it was a very good baby bunny day. But the major good news is that Daniel does not have covid, though he still doesn't feel well (I told him to go get a strep test, but I think I had used up my mom nag quota for the week).

Burden of Truth is back, with another storyline about First Nations vs Canadian policies stacked against them, which was very interesting and relevant last season. Plus we watched Jungle Cruise on Disney+, which was surprisingly enjoyable though very derivative of a LOT of adventure in the jungle movies, including several of Disney's own! Blunt and Johnson are fun! Canal frogs:

DSCN1123
Collapse )
little review

Greetings From My Backyard

I'm not entirely sure where Thursday went but I know where Thursday night went -- we tried to watch the women's gymnastics individual all-around on the Roku, but the feed kept cutting out (probably too many people watching). So instead we watched it tonight, with the sound off for an hour and a half while I was on my fannish chat and then distracted because older son, who hasn't felt well for a couple of days, was telling me he got a covid test although he's been fully vaccinated for many weeks (no results yet).

And my in-laws called to say one or both of Paul's brothers are talking about visiting them the weekend we already have a paid, nonrefundable reservation to go to the beach, for which I have been waiting all summer. We are seeing my in-laws this weekend and again in two weeks when other relatives are visiting, and I need my two days out of the entire year to see the ocean. Anyway, I am distracted and cranky about everything except Suni Lee. Here is what happens when the squirrel swings on the bird feeder and scatters the seeds:

DSCN0984A
Collapse )
get critical

Poem for Thursday and Brookside Roses

Collapse )

My Wednesday was quiet, at least until the thunderstorm tonight that made the lights flicker, but I got to talk to two of my high school friends at lunchtime, watch the men's gymnastics all-around at the Olympics, and fold laundry around a cat who wanted to sit on the clothes in the basket. The bunnies were hiding when we walked today, maybe too hot for them.

We've spent most of tonight watching swimming live from Tokyo -- Caeleb Dressel, Katie Ledecky -- and now I'm watching the start of the second season of The Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes on Disney+ because "The Fall of Asgard" in the first season is everything I could have dreamed in a cartoon. Some of the roses at Brookside Gardens last weekend:

DSCN1066
Collapse )
trek

Poem for Wednesday and Baby Bunnies

Collapse )

Tuesday was pretty quiet around here, in part because of the heat and in part because I got distracted watching Olympics coverage though I should never have gone on Twitter while Simone Biles was trending and every racist on the internet was there. Also, every idiot who can't comprehend a CDC announcement was blathering conspiracy theories, including a lot of people who should know better. We watched some of the gymnastics reruns and some live swimming (Katie Ledecky grew up 10 minutes from me) and took a walk as late as possible to keep cool.

Running late this evening because I watched Voyager's "Resolutions" with several of my friends from when the episode first aired, who joined my usual rewatch group, plus a couple of JetC people I didn't know who are friends of friends. That was awesome -- like a mini-reunion only of people from my own corner of fandom, and while some of the people I was closest with are gone (I keenly felt Becky's absence), it's delightful to share that episode the way we once did. Thanks, Kate Mulgrew, I owe you for that. Here are some baby bunnies from my cul-de-sac:

2021-07-26 18.08.03
Collapse )
photos

Poem for Tuesday and Muskrat Love

Collapse )

My Monday was, well, a Monday -- some stuff got written, some laundry got done, the birds got fed and then a squirrel went swinging on the feeder, scattering seed everywhere, so we had a little mouse alongside the sparrows, cardinals, chickadees, and occasional chipmunks on the deck. It was quite hot early on and pretty sticky when we took a walk, then some storms blew through and it cooled off a bit.

We watched mostly surfing in the Olympics coverage -- I never get tired of looking at beaches and waves -- and saw this weeks Republic of Sarah (consistently interesting) before PBS's screening on POV of Mayor, the funny-sad, fascinating documentary about the mayor of Ramallah during Christmas week and Prince William's visit. From the C&O Canal on Sunday, the muskrat munching in the lock:

DSCN1185
Collapse )
photos

Greetings from the Canal Again

We had brunch on Sunday with my parents and Nicole, who then flew back to New York and her family. We picked up Cava for three of us and Shake Shack for the other two and hung out in the kitchen for a while (without Paul for part of it because Shake Shack left the avocado and bacon off his burger and he went back to get it fixed). After we left, we messaged our kids, who originally had plans to see each other but Adam wound up on call, then we took a walk along the C&O Canal, this time with my camera (as you can see, we saw the muskrat, plus many frogs and turtles, and later a rainbow):

DSCN1117
Collapse )


We stopped at Giant and the vegetable stand on the way home, ate a small dinner on the late side since we weren't very hungry after lunch, then watched some Olympic highlights (hoping the gymnastics team pulls it together), Wellington Paranormal (werewolves, hilarious) and Dead Pixels (disgusting bodily functions) before John Oliver gave a brief summary of the history of housing discrimination and racist lending laws. We watched almost none of the games, but I am feeling rather ambivalent about the fact that the Orioles picked this weekend to play decently; they swept the Nationals!
jewitch

Greetings from Brookside Gardens

I spent a lot of Saturday with my parents and my sister, who is visiting them after a get-together with some of her high school friends in the area. We met at Brookside Gardens, where we walked around and saw the wildlife and flowers in and out of the conservatory, then later we met for dinner at Trapezaria, where I had tirokafteri and the fabulous feti me meli, which of course I couldn't finish.

2021-07-24 14.06.02
Collapse )


Apart from watching Olympic tennis, some skateboarding, and men's gymnastics, we caught up on the season finales of Kung Fu and Crime Scene Kitchen. I found the former quite satisfying -- whenever two women face off over enormous power, I enjoy it -- and the latter made me very hungry for napoleons, which was one of the required desserts (the other was a multi-tier chocolate cake)!
green little review

Greetings from the Canal

Quickie, watching Saturday's Olympic events (mostly tennis, a bit of fencing) after Friday's delayed broadcast of the opening ceremonies, which were nice but I feel very ambivalent about the fact that these Games are being held at all, with so many Tokyo residents objecting and the possibility of a super-spreader event from a variant emerging. I thought Kyrgyzstan won the uniform fashion show and my favorite bit were the live-action depictions of the pictographs representing the different sports. I've seen enough movies that the drones make me nervous.

I had a pretty quiet day otherwise. I exchanged a bunch of emails with my college roommate and another friend in New York because Brandi Carlile tickets at Wolf Trap went on sale in the morning and we wanted to get them (we're also seeing Mary Chapin Carpenter outside Philadelphia next month). Then in the mid-afternoon we went to walk along the canal; I stupidly forgot my camera, so have no good photos of the muskrat, green heron, or many frogs and turtles we saw, but we stopped at the co-op on the way home so I do have fresh produce. Don't expect greatness:

2021-07-23 17.04.07
Collapse )