get critical

Poem for Tuesday and Chinese New Year

Collapse )

I have nothing important to report from my Monday. We had nice weather, I did some work, I did some laundry, I went to the park, I listened to a neighbor actually burst into tears while talking about Kobe Bryant and got lectured online about how insensitive I am to rape victims if the very first thing I think when I hear "Kobe Bryant" is anything other than rage about a single assault allegation from so many years ago that I had his case confused with Ben Roethlisberger's -- it's David Bowie's death all over again.

We caught up on Batwoman, which I liked (please keep Beth!), Supergirl, which I did not love (I was so afraid Winn and his man-pain was back for good, when I should have been afraid Brainy and his man-pain would not shut up), and two-weeks-back Doctor Who, which I loved (Tesla! Edison! Aliens! It was like The Prestige crossed with Sanctuary with the Doctor). Here from Lakeforest Mall's Chinese New Year celebration are some of the performances, a bit of the art show, the dragon, and some displays:

2020-01-25 15.47.40
Collapse )
little review

Greetings from Ellicott City

Post-Grammy Awards quickie after a lovely day in Howard County, where Paul and I went to see Jill's new house with Cheryl and some other friends, went to brunch at Leelynn's, and drove into Ellicott City, where we inspected the status of the flood damage repairs, visited the Forget-Me-Not Factory, Gamers Corps, a couple of art galleries, and Sweet Cascades, where we got lots of chocolate-covered things! We got home in time for the Grammy Awards, though we missed a chunk while Skyping with Adam.

I'm annoyed that Lizzo did not beat Billie Eilish in several categories, but in general I was pretty out of it with music this year and I didn't even keep up with whatever went on with Dugan and the Recording Academy. My feed is a mix of people deeply mourning Kobe Bryant and people trying to remind others that he might have been a rapist -- I don't even remember what happened, given the number of prominent athletes who are or have been accused of being rapists -- so I will just say that I feel wholeheartedly terrible about his daughter and for his wife.

2020-01-26 16.52.04
Collapse )
jewitch

Greetings for the Year of the Rat

I'm laughing my ass off during the Adam Driver SNL (Undercover Boss! Medieval Times!) after spending the rest of the evening watching the pairs and ice dance competitions at the US Figure Skating Championships (I'm not a fan of Chock and Bates' free dance -- I'm not even completely sure whose culture they're appropriating -- but their edges are gorgeous, whereas Hubbell and Donohue skate to music I love and they're dramatic and emotive but their footwork just isn't as impressive; I'm biased toward Ponomarenko because I adored his parents but I also thought he and Carreira skated really well, so I'd have given them third and Hawayek/Baker second). So here is the rest of my Saturday celebrating the Year of the Rat, in photos:

2020-01-25 14.33.48
Collapse )
trek

Poem for Saturday and South Mountain Creamery

Collapse )

I had a quiet Friday doing a bunch of chores and projects not worth reporting. I went out to the park for a little while, and we had dinner with my parents and watched the US figure skating championships, but that's about all the excitement.

Now we're watching Patrick Stewart and Jamie Foxx on Graham Norton and they're razzing each other about L.A. hot spots, which is fun. Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend! Here are photos from South Mountain Creamery in December:

2019-12-31 15.51.37
Collapse )
photos

Poem for Friday, 1917, Brookside

Collapse )

I'm running late on everything tonight though it was a good day! I had a lovely long lunch with two friends at the cafe in Nordstrom, where we caught up on politics, musicals, family stuff, and various forms of fun, then I had to do a couple of chores in the mall and I stopped to do a Heatran raid so I didn't get home till after 5, right when Paul arrived, to feed our starving cats.

And then we decided to see 1917. I thought I was going to think that, after Dunkirk and Hacksaw Ridge, that it was another meaningful but violent war movie with actors I like. I had avoided reviews, so I didn't realize that it was filmed in long takes, which is so effective for propelling these events. Of the choices, Mendes better win best director or I'm going to be really annoyed.

On the way in, we ran into a neighbor who gets CBS All Access who knows we're Trekkies, so we watched the first episode of Picard. It's neither as bad as the haters claim nor as good as the believers preach; it feels more like watching Xavier than Picard, but it's not boring. I could watch next week or not and be fine either way. Some winter flowers and outdoor color from Brookside Gardens:

DSCN5441
Collapse )
get critical

Poem for Thursday, Bombshell, War and Pieces

Collapse )

I had a fairly quiet Wednesday, which was what I planned -- I had two laundries to fold and I wanted to make a necklace using the beads I got at Michaels on Tuesday, though I ended up having to go back to Michaels because I was about 20 tiny white beads short (fortunately they gave me a coupon yesterday so the tube was less than $2). And the necklace got made and the laundries got put away, so that's all good!

We decided to see Bombshell, having seen The Loudest Voice; the acting, particularly Theron's, is excellent, though I think Crowe's Ailes, which had a lot more time to develop, is more nuanced than Lithgow's and it was interesting seeing the harassment case in the larger context of the climate of white male privilege at Fox News. We got back in time for enough of this week's Stumptown to follow it.

Daniel messaged so we'd know he was already home when the shooting in Seattle started. At Hillwood earlier this month, the dining room, which was ostensibly decorated for Christmas, had an unusual table centerpiece: artist Bouke de Vries' War and Pieces, created from porcelain fragments and plastic toys, a nuclear explosion of Greco-Roman and Christian imagery which I guess represents the fall of the ancien regime?

2020-01-04 13.45.10
Collapse )
lrpenguin

Poem for Wednesday and Brookside Geese

Collapse )

I went out to lunch with my neighbor Carole and wound up spending a lovely afternoon with her. We went to Mykonos, where I had saganaki and taramasalata while Carole had non-veggie food, and afterward, since we were right nearby, we walked over to Michaels where I was looking for beads and she was looking for a portable glue gun. Then we went to Starbucks before coming home, where I used the beads to fix a necklace.

Daniel wanted to Skype about some long-term travel plans, so Paul and I talked to him after dinner. Then we watched Legends of Tomorrow, which is the most fun of the DC shows these days, and Emergence, which may end for the season or forever next week and I'm ambivalent -- depends how good the finale is! From Brookside Gardens over the chilly weekend, the big flock of geese in the pond by the tea house:

DSCN5539
Collapse )
jewitch

Poem for Tuesday and Brookside Winter Flowers

Collapse )

It was quite cold on Monday so we were in no rush to get out of the house. I talked to a couple of west coast relatives and sorted some old photos, then we had lunch and went to Brookside Gardens, where we mistakenly believed from the web site that the visitor center and conservatory were open. They were not -- they were closed for MLK Day -- but the winter garden had aconite, jasmine, and snowdrops blooming and shoots of crocuses and daffodils sticking up through the soil, so there were still harbingers of spring, and there were dozens and dozens of geese in the pond and on the grass.

We stopped at Roots Market while we were up in that direction after a long detour to avoid lane closures on the way, and at Giant and CVS on the way home, where we had slow cooker veggie chili for dinner. Then we watched the last Antiques Roadshow filmed at Winterthur (comic books, lightsaber handles, baseball as well as Toulouse-Lautrec, jewelry, and Americana) and the new episode of The New Pope (John Malkovich is crazier than Jude Law, as are the writers), followed by the season two finale of The Runaways (the non-possessed parents are even harder to tolerate than the possessed ones)!

DSCN5509
Collapse )
trek

Poem for Monday and Museum Afternoon

Collapse )

We went downtown Sunday morning so we could be there when Pokemon Community Day started, because Piplup was the chosen Pokemon this month and Piplup is a penguin and therefore one of the ones I remember younger son talking about from long before I cared about Pokemon at all. We parked near the Botanical Garden and walked around the National Mall in a big loop before going to the National Gallery of Art, where we ate lunch before the Community Day event ended. Then we went to the exhibits on pastels and on Alonso Berruguete's sculpture.

2020-01-19 12.10.48
Collapse )


We came home while it still looked like the Titans could beat the Chiefs, before the Chiefs started blowing them out and made it clear they deserved to be in the Super Bowl. Then we watched the start of the Packers-49ers game, but it was obvious by the start of Supergirl that San Francisco would be joining Kansas City, so we switched to superheroes while we had dessert, following it up with Marvel's Runaways (which is finally treating Leslie as a fellow victim who was groomed by a child abuser, not a schemer with PRIDE).
get critical

Poem for Sunday, Little Women, The Two Popes, Hamilton

Collapse )

We woke Saturday to flurries that were forecast to come and go most of the day, so even though we got no accumulation and the worst of it ended up being a few minutes of hail, we stayed mostly indoors apart from a stop in a Cabin John Park parking lot for a Heatran raid. So there was lots of entertainment. After lunch, we went to see Little Women, which I -- okay, bad feminist -- liked but didn't love. Now, I never loved the book, and I never loved any of the other movie versions though it's possible I liked the Ryder-Danes-Dunst version better on first viewing when I first saw it, though that was a million years ago. The accents were uneven, the time jumps seemed unnecessarily frenetic, and it still felt like it was too much about the cute rich boy.

So we came home, ate leftover faux tuna casserole, and watched The Two Popes. Now, like I said, bad feminist, because apart from the fact that it's about two men at the top of one of the most patriarchal, misogynistic institutions in history and I'm not comfortable with how completely it forgave Bergoglio's complicity with Argentine leaders and Ratzinger's Hitler Youth, I loved everything about the movie. The acting is phenomenal (accents also not perfect but they're supposed to be fluent in five languages so it's impressive that they could manage even half), the imagined conversations are by turns witty, clever, and profound, it's political on both a global and interpersonal level. Speaking of imperfect leaders, Hamilton and Burr at the Virginia Historical Society:

DSCN5415
Collapse )