?

Log in

No account? Create an account
The Little Review
Making No Compromises With the Public Taste
 
Tuesday, 17th September 2019 12:28 am - Poem for Tuesday and Hirshhorn Sculpture Garden
The CamelliaCollapse )

We got up early on Monday so we could have breakfast with son's girlfriend, who was staying at The Hotel at the University of Maryland for their computer career fair, interviewing people for her company and giving a tech talk. We went to Bagel 'n Grinds, which is in The Hotel and has very good eggwiches and hot chocolate (I can't speak about the coffee since I didn't have any, but there are free refills). When we got home, Paul went to work and I went out to do some shopping, which wound up taking the whole afternoon and I never got around to lunch before I ran into some Pokemon friends who reminded me that Gen 5 came out at 4.

So I caught a bunch of Lillipups and Patrats, then we went to do some Psystrike Mewtwo raids though I did not catch a shiny. By the time I got home, I was starving, so we had leftover chili casserole and peanut soup since they could be heated up quickly despite not quite going together. Paul wanted to watch Monday Night Football, which was not entirely dramatic since the Browns beat the Jets by a large score. Here are some photos from Sunday in the Hirshhorn Sculpture Garden, including two monuments to Balzac, and Cars at the Capital on the National Mall, a 1969 Chevrolet Corvette Stingray owned by astronaut Alan Bean:

2019-09-15 12.17.43
On and Off the MallCollapse )
Monday, 16th September 2019 12:08 am - Greetings from the National Mall
Quickie because we are getting up early to meet Adam's girlfriend, who is in town to give a tech talk and recruit for her new company at the University of Maryland's career fair, for breakfast before she has to work! Sunday was a gorgeous day, and since it was also a Pokemon Community Day, we went downtown early to visit the US Botanic Garden and I caught dozens of Turtwigs as we walked around the Capitol Reflecting Pool and the National Mall. We had a picnic in the Hirshhorn sculpture garden and got ice cream by the Native American museum's outdoor fountains.

2019-09-15 12.50.52
Afternoon DowntownCollapse )


By the time the Pokemon event ended at 2, we were pretty tired from all the walking, so we came home and did a bunch of chores while I backed up my computer, though I still don't know what I'm replacing it with. We watched the very end of the Ravens game, which is all that was televised here, and after dinner we watched the season opening special of The Masked Singer and this week's Succession and On Becoming a God in Central Florida, which were both quite entertaining though I think even the villain of the latter is a better person than anyone in the former!
Sunday, 15th September 2019 01:01 am - Greetings from Mount Vernon's Colonial Fair
Saturday was a little warmer and sticker than Friday but still quite nice, so after an early brunch, we went to the colonial market fair at Mount Vernon, where we heard sailor songs and bagpipes, watched a magic show, listened to General Washington answer questions about his career (he had complaints about Congressional budgets and refused to speak about his role as spymaster), saw ice cream being made, bought homemade soap, looked at lots of glass and pottery, witnessed a skirmish between the Continental and British militias, and ate bread and cheese sandwiches. Most of the animals weren't on the farm because of cannons, but we walked down to the river, too.

2019-09-14 13.22.57
Colonial MarketCollapse )


As often happens when we go to Mount Vernon, we got in the mood for peanut soup -- the first time I ever had it was at the restaurant there -- so we stopped to get a few things at the Bethesda Co-op, then came home for soup, cheese, and appples with almond croissants we bought from the boulangerie at the fair. The Terrapins score was depressing and Florida's quarterback had a horrible leg injury, which was all the football news I needed, so instead we watched Booksmart, which felt oddly dated to me -- very reminiscent of high school movies from when I was in high school, and utterly focused on white girls, though at least girls were at the center of the story.
Saturday, 14th September 2019 01:06 am - Poem for Saturday and Cape Henlopen Wildlife
ArdorsCollapse )

My Friday morning was uneventful -- mostly involved research into new computers, haven't made any decisions yet -- and listening to lots of Eddie Money. After lunch I was going to go out and do a raid, but when I opened the door, there was a tiny little green bird looking stunned on the porch mat, and when it hadn't moved an hour later though I went outside inches away from it and the cats sat in the window glaring at it, I called the nature center in Cabin John Park, which referred me to Second Chance Wildlife Rescue, which was likely to close before I could get there. When I went outside with a box and went to pick it up, though, it peeped, hopped, and flew away!

The weather was completely gorgeous, cool and overcast, so I could have the doors open most of the day. I did eventually go do a Deoxys raid near CVS, after which I went to the park for a little while and got gas. We had dinner with my parents, saw the beginning of the Nationals-Braves game (which did not end well for the Nats), then watched The Hustle, which had some cute moments but I did not like as much as I was expecting; it's not a story of women working together to con men so much as women in a turf competition and the male con artists are always a step ahead of them, so there's really no good girl-power feeling at all. From Cape Henlopen, some of the wildlife and cacti:

DSCN1946
Near the ShoreCollapse )
Friday, 13th September 2019 12:48 am - Poem for Friday and Cape Henlopen Towers
Prairie DawnCollapse )

I spent an insane amount of Thursday determined that I could fix my computer if I just found the software glitch making my screen dim -- I ran Dell scans and AMD scans and Microsoft scans, I went hunting for drivers to replace the ones they apparently haven't made for my computer since Windows 8, and long story short, I'm pretty sure there's either a short in the physical monitor controls or the bulb needs to be replaced, in either case not something I can fix myself. So I need a new computer, that I can afford, ASAP. Sigh.

I had a better evening, since we met Kay and Chris at the new Silver Diner in Gaithersburg for dinner. There was live music in the new bandstand on Washingtonian Lake and the temperature had dropped, so it was a nice night when we left despite some drizzle on the way home. We missed the beginning of the debate and frankly I was more in the mood for the Panthers-Bucs game before the infotainers came on live with the inevitable highlights. From Cape Henlopen, guard towers and lighthouses, mostly ornamental now:

DSCN1896
Lighthouses and TowersCollapse )
Thursday, 12th September 2019 12:45 am - Poem for Thursday and Fenwick Island Beach
Song Of The SeaCollapse )

I spent Wednesday morning researching new computers, trying to figure out what I need and what I can afford (opinions on 7th Generation Intel Core i5 Processor vs 8th Generation Intel Core i3 Processor and on graphics cards, which I know absolutely nothing about, are welcome). Then I went to A.C. Moore looking for beads that it turned out I'd seen at Michael's, so I went there too, and it will surprise no one when I say I also bought a bunch of Halloween decorations at 40-60% off. Paul wanted to make chili casserole using Fritos for dinner, so we ran out to Giant to get the aforementioned Fritos -- and it was raid hour, so I also completed a set of Deoxys formes on my baby account.

After dinner, we went to see the Bruce Springsteen inspired Blinded By the Light, which is quite enjoyable especially if you're a Boss fan, though it's structurally a lot like many other immigrant experience movies, and I'm not very comfortable with how easily this and Yesterday both posit that huge white pop stars produce songs so universal, they help Brits of color come to terms with their own dreams and aspirations, which in both cases turn out to be about fame and financial solvency far more than necessary social change. But so much to sing along! Here are some of my favorite views of the beach at Fenwick Island plus one sunset over the bay just across the coastal highway from the ocean:

DSCN1787
Delaware SeasideCollapse )
Wednesday, 11th September 2019 12:48 am - Poem for Wednesday and Beach Shopping
The Sea ShellCollapse )

My Tuesday was a giant scream of frustration because my computer, which was originally my father's computer and is therefore eight years old, is suddenly having major issues particularly with the monitor and Dell is no longer providing any of the updates I may need to fix it (or it may be a hardware issue, in which case no BIOS download is going to help). None of my in-house or out-of-town tech experts could solve it. Plus, I am no longer at the beach and this is always an upsetting date.

I did get to hang out for a while with our neighbor and cat-sitter, catching up on things around the neighborhood, and I did get to eat the leftover hush puppies from Monday evening with fresh butter. Plus we caught up on the Succesion and On Becoming a God in Central Florida episodes we missed on Sunday and those characters have much bigger problems than I do. Here are some things at Sea Shell City in Rehoboth and the Seaside Country Store in Fenwick Island that I wish I had bought:

2019-09-08 15.06.02
Nautical DecorCollapse )
Tuesday, 10th September 2019 12:38 am - Greetings from Cape Henlopen
Sadly, I am actually at home right now, but we had a great final beach day, starting with a drive after breakfast and checkout through Lewes to Cape Henlopen, which has been extensively renovated since we were last there, including a new military museum and a touch tank in the nature center. We hiked around Fort Miles and its World War II harbor defenses, climbed up the watchtower, had a picnic in the pavilion near the hawk-watching station, visited the nature center where I got to pet skates and horseshoe crabs, walked along the half-mile pine forest trail to the bay, and went to the beach on the Atlantic Ocean where we saw pelicans and mole crabs in the surf.

2019-09-09 11.38.13
Fort, Nature Center, SeashoreCollapse )


The north beach has bathhouses and wooden walkways to the beach over the dunes with a snack bar that's open in the summer, so we got out of our damp clothes before driving to Kent Island, where we had dinner at Harris Crab House (which also has Beyond Burgers, hush puppies, and canisters of Old Bay-type seasoning on every table, surrounded by big window views of the Kent Narrows Waterway. Then we drove over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and home while the sun was setting. Our cats were not entirely thrilled to see us, since our cat-sitter feeds them more than we do, but we got a few snuggles around the demands for food and attention and all the laundries.
Monday, 9th September 2019 12:02 am - Greetings from Rehoboth
After a morning on the beach -- with smaller waves and warmer weather than the previous day, bringing plenty of sandpipers and hundreds of sand crabs, where I shredded a flip flop -- we went to Rehoboth for lunch and some sightseeing. We got healthy food like Thrasher's french fries, Nic-o-bolis, salt water taffy, and whoopie pies. But don't worry, I got plenty of exercise playing Skee Ball at Funland and running away from gulls who wanted to steal my fries. Plus I got to look in lots of tacky beach clothes and jewelry stores!

2019-09-08 14.42.26
Along the BoardwalkCollapse )


In the late afternoon, we came back to Fenwick Island to go to the beach, came inside to catch up on the late football scores -- good day for the Ravens, terrible one for DC though there are plenty of Eagles fans happy in Delaware, and older son was glad Seattle won -- then went back out to look for ghost crabs, which were once again plentiful after dark. We were still pretty full from eating all afternoon, so we nibbled for a late dinner while watching the Patriots beat the Steelers. On Monday after a bit more beach, we'll be home, woe!
Sunday, 8th September 2019 12:36 am - Greetings from Sunny Delaware
We had a pretty much perfect day in Fenwick Island, though the beach had rough waves and riptide warnings so there was no one swimming when we first arrived in the morning under cloudless skies. That changed as it warmed up, though the waves were some of the biggest we've seen in Delaware and the only horseshoe or blue crabs we've seen this trip were deceased ones thrown onto the sand by the hurricane. We spent a couple of hours on the beach, came back to the hotel for sandwiches, then went to the DiscoverSea Museum and the Seaside Country Store before heading to Viking Golf for my annual mini golf loss while distracted by Thor.

We had traditional beachside Kohr Brothers frozen custard and went to the beach for a while in the late afternoon, water still rough though I think the riptide warnings ended tonight, replaced by high water warnings for the bay and creeks, which were indeed up over their banks when we drove to Grotto Pizza for dinner. There was a glorious sunset that we stopped to see over Little Assawoman Bay at Fenwick Island State Park before we came back to the beach near our hotel to look for ghost crabs. Now we're eating fudge from the Seaside Country Store and watching the college football wrap-up, since it was a good day for the Terps!

2019-09-07 12.05.22
Fenwick IslandCollapse )
This page was loaded Sep 17th 2019, 2:42 pm GMT.