get critical

Poem for Friday and Marine Corps Culture

Collapse )

Thursday was cooler and less humid than earlier in the week -- a beautiful day. It was mostly a chore day for me, but we took a walk in the afternoon to enjoy it and several baby bunnies were out! We caught up on LEGO Masters and The Flash -- so glad it's the season finale, I basically lost track of everything that happened after Speed Force Mom stopped being evil -- and had grilled cheese and tomato soup for dinner because we were in the mood.

I chatted with fannish friends in the evening around those TV episodes, after which we watched the end of the Yankees-Red Sox game, which Boston tied in the 9th and won in the 10th so that was pretty enjoyable. Here are some cultural souvenirs from the National Museum of the Marine Corps, including a violin that belonged to John Philip Sousa, Olympic riflery medals won by Marines, an Oscar won by the Marine Corps in 1944 for a gritty documentary, and a model of the USS Constellation:

2021-07-04 15.06.30
Collapse )
get critical

Poem for Thursday and Stone Barn

Collapse )

I'm behind on things because little went according to schedule on Wednesday -- not the laundry, not my Target delivery which as has happened before arrived with half the things in the huge box crushed by others, not my usual lunchtime call with my high school friends because one person couldn't come and the other two were tied up long after noon, not my walk which was interrupted by a thunderstorm. Food, at least, was good: Paul made Belgian food for dinner since it's Belgium's national holiday, and our neighbor brought us Moroccan bread that we ate with Moroccan honey.

And I discovered that the making-of-Loki episode of Assembled had arrived on Disney+, which we watched long distance with Cheryl, and that was a thing of total beauty. Tom Hiddleston narrates it as if he's actually a Loki -- at one point during a rehearsal he calls Frigga his mum -- and there's behind-the-scenes footage of Alligator Loki, and Owen Wilson discussing how, after quoting Shakespeare, Tom was polite enough to ask whether he too had ever played Hamlet, something Ben Stiller never thought to ask him. Here are the stone barn-museum and horses at Woodlawn Manor Park:

DSCN0959
Collapse )
jewitch

Poem for Wednesday, Cabin John Park, Zooming

Collapse )

Tuesday was younger son's 25th birthday, although since he had to work, I did not talk to him till nearly 11 p.m. I did get a celebration in the morning, though: our neighbors were having an Eid al-Adha feast and brought us breakfast with mint tea, fried bread, and Moroccan honey, which I now know is the best in the world. Otherwise it was a pretty uneventful day until late afternoon, when we went to the post office to mail some packages (and son's jury duty summons, and my mid-ordered leaf pouch), then took a walk in Cabin John Park.

My Voyager group did not watch an episode this week because one of us is traveling; instead we tested a bunch of different meeting platforms for next week when we watch "Resolutions" and are expecting several visitors, which let us play with goofy backgrounds, too. When eventually we got off chat, I watched this week's Superman and Lois, still uneven, and Miracle Workers, which remains delightful nuttiness, before we got ahold of son, who had just eaten Thai food and had leftover cake from the weekend. A few today pics:

2021-07-20 16.55.51
Collapse )
lrpenguin

Poem for Tuesday and Nationals Park

Collapse )

My Monday was fairly quiet and uneventful. The biggest excitement was going out to get bagels for the week. It was a weird mail day; younger son got a jury duty summons even though he hasn't lived in the state for two years, and I discovered that I accidentally ordered a green belt attachment for a black belt when I'd intended to order a matching one. The weather, at least, was beautiful after all the heat last week, and there were bunnies out when we walked.

We watched The Republic of Sarah and Titans - I love the former, still overly idealistic and that is fine with me, while the latter is yet another DC all-darkness-and-violence drama that really isn't doing a thing for me. We only looked at the Nationals game before and after, which I guess was a good choice because the Nats beat the Marlins 18-1! They play better when I look away, on which subject, some stadium fun photos from the game on Sunday:

2021-07-18 16.22.07B
Collapse )
green little review

Greetings from Nationals Park

Sunday was a beautiful day, 80ish and mostly overcast, and we were lucky enough to have baseball tickets -- a belated Father's Day present for my father -- for the Nationals-Padres game. Because there was a shooting in front of the stadium on Saturday night that got that game postponed, we got to watch the last few innings of the Saturday game before this afternoon's game started, while we ate (veggie hot dog and fries for me, and eventually ice cream), and it started pretty well, with Scherzer pitching and the Nats going up 4-0.

It was also the second day of Pokemon Go Fest, for which players got 20 raid passes, which I thought was going to be a bust for me because I was going to be at the ballpark for pretty much the whole event, but I was sitting close enough to two gyms to raid at them and friends from all over invited me to remote raids, so I actually caught lots of legendaries and shinies. We left when it looked like the Nats had blown it, but (probably because we had gone) they got a walk off hit in the bottom of the 9th.

We had pizza with my parents and came home for Wellington Paranormal, which continues to be hilarious, and the season two premiere of Dead Pixels, which is kind of uneven but still funny.

2021-07-18 15.05.47
Collapse )
lrpenguin

Greetings from the Unova Region

Saturday was the first day of Pokemon Go Fest 2021. It was also a muggy morning followed by pouring rain all afternoon, so I'm glad most of the activities that required walking showed up early and I could get them done before the storms. I caught lots of Pokemon, Skyped the kids, and eventually drove around the Pokestops in Cabin John Park when the storm was waning. The cats eventually even came upstairs.

We watched Black Widow again after dinner because we both wanted to see it again and catch some of the details the internet pointed out to me when I stopped avoiding spoilers after I saw it once. I absolutely love that movie. Then we started rewatching Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy because I was in the mood and will finish it another night. Here are some of the visitors to our deck this summer:

DSCN0921
Collapse )
get critical

Greetings from the Bunnies

Most of my Friday was quiet -- bunch of work in the house, bunch of chores, a walk in the woods where it was cooler than staying on the sidewalk. After dinner we watched 8 Mile, which we'd managed never to see before (and managed not to know Anthony Mackie was in, heh). It feels quite dated in some ways but it also feels like a lot of filmmakers have swiped both the structure and content of the film (I know people point out that Curtis Hanson swiped some things from Purple Rain but 8 Mile is much more autobiographical).

And I really feel like Eminem, far more than the artists he appropriated, was the musical model in turn for Lin-Manuel Miranda -- a number of songs in Hamilton remind me very specifically of Eminem songs. Anyway, in spite of the parts that are especially hard to watch nowadays, I enjoyed the performances and I've known the music for many years. Plus we had the good sense not to watch either the embarrassing Orioles game (2-9) or the absolutely humiliating Nationals game (8-24). Despite the heat, the bunnies were out:

DSCN0701
Collapse )
little review

Poem for Friday and Marines Museum

Collapse )

Quickie, was chatting with fannish friends until late and then we caught up on Superman and Lois, which has extra minutes on the CW Roku channel and this episode was actually worth of an extended edition. The earlier part of my day was not exciting: I discovered on Tuesday while looking for my review of "Tuvix" that when I took my Voyager reviews offline several years ago to add the retro reviews, I never actually finished the index, and it took a couple of hours to get it updated and uploaded.

We took a walk in the afternoon to see the local flowers and whatever birds were not on our deck fighting over the new suet, I got laundry folded, we had sausages and shells for dinner. Then we watched the end of Les Miserables (the Jackman-Crowe movie musical) which I'd started watching the night before in honor of Bastille Day (yes, I know, wrong revolution) before I got on Zoom to chat. Here are some more exhibits from the National Museum of the Marine Corps:

DSCN0874
Collapse )
get critical

Poem for Thursday, Loki, Brookside Frogs

Collapse )

I had a nice Wednesday -- some chores in the morning, then I chatted with my high school friends, for less time than we sometimes do now that Google Meet is now limiting groups to an hour, but it was still lovely to catch up with them. It was very hot in the early afternoon, then looked like we were going to get thunderstorms but we only ever had a bit of rain, and we went for a walk during that so it wasn't too awful out. Paul made boeuf bourguignon for Bastille Day and we caught up on The Flash, though I honestly couldn't pass a quiz on what has happened all this season.

The big TV event of the day of course was Loki, whose season finale I have now watched twice, to much delight though it was not the episode I expected -- after WandaVision and The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, I assumed the TV series would be primarily character-based, so I thought the man behind the curtain would be another Loki. I didn't expect a proper launching of a Phase Four villain! I was pleasantly surprised how talky the episode was and reasonably satisfied -- of course the moral Sylvie would take is that you can't trust your own variants. No Throg, but Brookside Gardens frogs:

DSCN0643
Collapse )
trek

Poem for Wednesday and Underground Railroad Trail

Collapse )

My Tuesday was pretty quiet -- I had a bunch of things I had to get done, I had lunch with my husband, I chased squirrels off bird feeders, I tried to convince the cats to eat their own food and not someone else's. We needed to go to the food store, so in the late afternoon of this 90+ degree day, we took a walk on the shady side of Cabin John Park before heading to Giant. Then I took a shower before dinner, which was leftovers.

My Voyager group watched "Tuvix" though we had to do it on Zoom because Google Meet is now limiting groups to one hour, and while one of us had a paid Zoom account, no one had a paid Google account. Afterward we watched some of the All-Star Game, then the delightful season premiere of Miracle Workers. The hollow tree and other sights along the Underground Railroad Experience Trail near Woodlawn Manor:

2021-07-10 17.31.04
Collapse )