green little review

Poem for Wednesday and St. Patrick's Day

Collapse )

We had gorgeous weather yet again on Tuesday. I walked around the neighborhood again and I walked in Cabin John Park again with Paul when he was done with work. In between, he decided we needed a proper Irish breakfast for St. Patrick's Day, so he made soda bread, eggs, veggie bacon and veggie sausage, and later he made corned tofu for dinner, which is somewhat harder and drier than corned beef but I wasn't much of a beef fan even when I ate meat. I spent most of the day scanning old photos; I'm mostly done with 1999 and partly done with 1998, though the photos are out of order so I may be missing some months.

2020-03-17 13.13.10
Collapse )


Evening entertainment was The Flash -- which should always feature as much Cisco, Caitlin, and Nash as possible and much less Barry and Iris -- though Nash and Maya really should have watched Indiana Jones movies at some point, followed by Legends of Tomorrow, which was sad and frustrating because I know the actors wanted to stick around but also had the magnificent Romeo and Juliet storyline with Shakespeare and I really thought they'd let the guys kiss goodbye. Miracle Workers is always hilarious crack, and Colbert did another awesome opening from his house, this time with Jon Batiste at home too.
photos

Poem for Tuesday and Washingtonian Waterfowl

Collapse )

Monday was, unsurprisingly, a pretty quiet day. I had lunch plans with Kay, but we'd decided to be responsible and cancel even before the governor ordered all restaurants in Maryland to close except for takeout. Instead I had bagels at home with Paul and scanned a bunch of old photos when I wasn't writing or reading coronavirus memes; when he was done with his phone conferences, we went to Locust Grove to take a walk, where it was very easy to avoid being within many feet of other people.

We watched the first episode of The Plot Against America, which I liked but it's hard to get a real sense of how good the scarier parts will be from just the introduction, plus we caught up on last night's Supergirl (I appreciate the sentiment but it was pretty heavy-handed in its writing) and Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist (hitting every cliche Isn't It Romantic warned about) which we blew off to watch Westworld (definitely the right call). From Washingtonian Lake on Saturday, some more of the geese and goslings:

2020-03-14 13.25.49
Collapse )
get critical

Poem for Monday and Sunday in Parks

Collapse )

On Sunday we were supposed to go see a community theater production of Evita in Frederick, and before that, I was going to catch some Abras during Pokemon Community Day hours. Neither of those things happened, the latter because the event was canceled globally and the former because, although the show went on in the relatively small theater, we decided that we shouldn't go, even though it was my Valentine's Day present (don't worry, I have been promised to be taken to Hamilton at the Kennedy Center in a few months assuming that tour goes as scheduled).

It was chilly but beautiful out, so we decided after lunch to go take a walk along the C&O Canal. The turtles weren't out under the overcast sky except for one big snapper in the water, but to our surprise the bluebells were starting to bloom. We also saw lots of forsythia, various low-lying daisy-shaped flowers in white and purple, Canada geese, mallards, wood ducks, and lots of lovely scenery, but very few people, which was just how we wanted it. I also went to a Regigigas raid, with more people but we all stayed several feet apart, which makes Pokemon Go a great way to socialize.

DSCN6527
Collapse )


That last photo is of dinner, Chicken Caesar by Paul in honor of the date. We watched the new episode of Batwoman, which has great characters but was quite violent, then the Westworld season premiere, which was really violent but also fantastic (I'm so excited they're out of the park in real time). And then we watched John Oliver's one-man-and-a-camera Last Week Tonight, which was all about the coronavirus in every way and quite effective given that its claustrophobic end-times feeling reminded me of the sign-off in every global disaster story. At least both my kids are now working from home!
green little review

Greetings from Quiet Parks

Saturday was a gorgeous, partly overcast day in the DC area, so we saw no reason not to spend it outdoors at a reasonable distance from everyone else enjoying the weather, especially since our poor friends from Ohio were stuck in snow on top of everything. So we went to Washingtonian Lake, where my parents saw goslings last weekend, and walked around the lake, successfully finding the goslings as well as lots of ducks and few people. Then we made a quick stop at the library, which is closing for the rest of the month, to grab some diversions, and hiked through the woods around Locust Grove looking for spring peepers, though in the cooler weather, they were quiet and we only saw cardinals and bluejays. And Paul made pie for dinner!

DSCN6420
Collapse )


We just spent the evening watching Colette, which I enjoyed a lot more than the last famous-writer movie we saw with Keira Knightley since this time she was the writer rather than the girlfriend (and since movies about Colette always cover her early life when she was openly bisexual and her husband took credit for her novels, not her period in Occupied France as a Nazi apologist, she's easy to appreciate). Afterward, since we were already in streaming mode, we watched Dark Phoenix, which was exactly as bad as I had heard -- a movie about three women which killed them all off so two guys could live happily ever after together, with even more CGI violence as the previous Dark Phoenix movie, X-Men: The Last Stand.
trek

Poem for Saturday and Living Local

Collapse )

I guess we're all going to be boring for the next few weeks? The highlight of the afternoon was watching Inception while Paul and I worked on our computers; I got in the mood to watch because of Doctor Strange, which made use of similar folding cityscape visuals, but I forgot what a great movie the former is all around -- okay, lots of problematic writing of female characters, but great performances and a really interesting sci-fi hook. I would never have rooted against The King's Speech that year but I can't believe there were people who thought The Social Network was a better movie than Inception.

The weather was gorgeous, and after Paul finished working for the day, we took a walk in Cabin John Park, where the crocuses are giving way to forsythia, daffodils, and early cherry blossoms. From there we went to my parents for dinner -- my mother apparently tracked down the last bag of flour in the greater DC area at Whole Foods for us -- then came home and caught up on Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist (a lot of romantic and domestic drama, but at least that's true of all genders on the show) and watched more Jessica Jones in which David Tennant is so horrifying and upsetting, I have trouble watching. This week:

2020-03-11 19.14.17
Collapse )
trek

Poem for Friday and Neighborhood Spring

Collapse )

No sooner had I gotten up this morning than Paul sent me a message that his office was closing till the end of March, so he was coming to work from home. I went out to get bagels and we had lunch together, then we both worked on our computers while watching what turned out to be the last game of spring training, as we feared it might be, in which the Nationals unfortunately lost to the Yankees. Meanwhile, the NCAA shut down, theaters shut down, hockey shut down, Norway shut down, the Maryland public schools shut down, the Smithsonian shut down, and at this point we can't make plans for the weekend let alone plans to see our kids this spring.

We went out to get haircuts and a pill-cutter for cat medicine plus other things, which required a visit to a parking lot that showed us what the End Times will look like. I discovered that the post-coronation letter that George VI wrote to Lionel Logue is up for auction so I would really like someone with thousands of dollars to spare to buy that for me! We watched two episodes of The Windsors that we'd missed, then an episode of Jessica Jones which was very gory, then tonight's brilliant Daily Show around Skyping younger son who is still stuck in an office. I walked around the neighborhood earlier taking phone pictures of flowers, so here are some of those:

2020-03-12 18.29.45
Collapse )
lrpenguin

Poem for Thursday, Cat Vet, Great Falls

Collapse )

Wednesday was all about illness around here. And I don't mean coronavirus, though every time I looked at my phone or my computer, something else had been shut down -- concerts, sports events, returning to college after spring break, travel to Europe, free Sephora makeovers, the NBA season, everything in Italy. Daisy spent the morning being grumpy and sleeping in a box that usually belongs to Effie, forcing Effie to sleep on a vent and, once she realized the heat wasn't coming on, on my bed, and then the vet arrived to perform acts of great cruelty like taking her temperature, looking in her ears, determining that she had an ear infection in both ears, cleaning out said ears, and giving her ear drops that we have to continue for the next two weeks.

I'd been stuck in the house waiting for the vet to arrive and the moving van for the house two doors down to stop blocking the parking spots, so by the time apaulled came home, I made him come for a walk at Locust Grove to see the daffodils blooming, then we stopped at Giant to get the last rolls of toilet paper in the entire region (kidding, of course, we were actually getting cat food). We came home for a quick dinner, The Masked Singer (OMFG SARAH PALIN), and waiting for LEGO Masters, then turning off Fox as soon as Trump's face appeared to watch an episode of Jessica Jones, followed by Miracle Workers (in which it is legal for a man to marry a goat). Some springy photos from Great Falls the weekend before last:

DSCN6215
Collapse )
get critical

Poem for Wednesday and National Colonial Farm

Collapse )

Tuesday was another warm day, but it was drizzly, so I didn't wander as far afield and spent a lot of time in the house doing chores to keep an eye on Daisy, who is still stuffy and cranky and is seeing the vet tomorrow -- I can't tell whether she has an earache or a sore tooth or is just bothered that her sinuses are stuffed so she's rubbing that side of her face, but we're going to find out. Anyway, the most exciting parts of my day were on the TV screen, apart from dinner when Paul made savory hamantaschen for Purim to go with the chocolate ones my mother got us last week.

We watched The Flash, which is boring me even more this season than last season, and Legends of Tomorrow, which had some touching moments and the awesomeness that was Mr. Parker's Cul-de-Sac with puppets and everything! Then we watched the season (series?) finale of The New Pope, which was great in every way, surprisingly moving, taking the issues of faith seriously and also concerned about the many dark aspects of organized religion. I loved Jude Law and John Malkovich playing off each other! Now some adorable animals from the National Colonial Farm at Piscataway Park:

DSCN6299
Collapse )
jewitch

Poem for Tuesday and Brookside Spring

Collapse )

It was over 70 degrees on Monday and spring continued to blossom in the neighborhood, making it a perfect day to visit the park. It was also my mother's birthday, so we went to Trapezaria for dinner with my parents, where I ate much too much fava, tyrokafteri, and saganaki, plus we all shared salad and dessert. The restaurant was almost empty because of the plague.

In the evening after we got home, we watched The Aeronauts, which wasn't really what I was expecting but I enjoyed -- I wanted Amelia to be more an adventurer and less a woman trying to work past a loss, but it was beautifully filmed and well acted, and I love that sort of period piece ranging from carnivals to homes to academic halls. Spring at Brookside Gardens over the weekend:

DSC_5417A
Collapse )
lrpenguin

Greetings from Accokeek

Sunday was an even more gorgeous day than Saturday. We slept relatively late due to the clocks springing forward, which makes me very happy now that there will be evening light, then had an early lunch and went to Piscataway Park and the National Colonial Farm. We walked down to the river to see Mount Vernon on the other side, then we walked through the farm, where we saw many lambs and piglets as well as cows, turkeys, chickens, and geese, and around the pond, where we saw turtles and ducks. Flowers and trees were blooming all around.

2020-03-08 14.27.33
Collapse )


We had Ethiopian lentils from Mom's Organic Market, so Paul made shiro wot and injera to go with them for dinner and it was awesome. Then we watched Batwoman (grounded and emotionally sharp) and Supergirl (I really would like several characters to get their old personalities back), followed by John Oliver's takedown of sheriff's races (and rage at Disney for censoring his show overseas, so much that he threatened to slide false facts about Disney into his show "the way Chip and Dale slid into Richard Gere"). And the Lady Terps won the Big 10 Championship!