?

Log in

No account? Create an account
The Little Review
Making No Compromises With the Public Taste
 
Sunday, 13th October 2019 12:01 am - Greetings from Atlantic City
I'm in a hotel outside of Philadelphia, where we just had dinner with my best friend from college and one of her best friends since, after spending an afternoon in Atlantic City walking on the beach and boardwalk, wandering in and out of casinos (I played two quarter slots and skee-ball, less than $2 in total), and eating New Jersey pizza and salt water taffy, plus a visit to Margate City's Lucy the Elephant. So all in all a fabulous day, though we talked all night and now I have to go to bed! More pics soon!

2019-10-12 11.52.07A
Atlantic and Margate CitiesCollapse )
Saturday, 12th October 2019 12:14 am - Poem for Saturday and Earhart at Boeing
You Haven't Seen a TreeCollapse )

I did a bunch of chores Friday morning so I could go to the park, where I enjoyed the weather, did a raid with some locals, was told that I could catch a Heatmor if I hurried to the park entrance (and I did), raced to the other end of the park for a Ferroseed, then dropped a magnetic lure and walked back and forth for half an hour in front of the train station catching electric Pokemon and evolving Magnezones and Probopasses.

We had dinner with my parents, then came home for the Nationals game, which was a delight since they were never losing and beat a team that scored 10 runs in the first inning the other day! I organized some music files -- is it true Google Music is going to be folded into YouTube Music? please let us keep our playlists. From Seattle's Museum of Flight, Amelia Earhart and a replica of her Electra, plus a piece of hers broken in a crash:

2019-09-27 12.01.54
Amelia and ElectraCollapse )
Friday, 11th October 2019 01:11 am - Poem for Friday and Chestertown Waterfront
Hundreds of Purple Octopus Moms Are Super Weird, and They're DoomedCollapse )

The spectacular fall weather continues -- it was warmer during the day on Thursday, during which I was somewhat slow and sluggish from staying up so late watching the Nationals beat the Dodgers in extra innings, but now it's beautiful and cool and I'd never shut the doors if only my neighbor who smokes wasn't out puffing away on the deck. I went to the park to walk and I stopped by my parents' house with a sewing question, where I saw a mom and two nearly-adult fawns on their neighbor's lawn.

Paul and I went to Giant for cat food and some people food, plus I went to CVS, which ripped me off by refusing to let me use my $4 off $18 hair coupon. My mother had given us a Rosh Hashanah challah with raisins, so Paul made French toast for dinner with that, plus cheesy eggs and veggie bacon. Then we watched the end of the Mystics' championship game, which was very exciting, followed by the Patriots-Giants game, which was less so. Pics of Chestertown's beautiful waterfront last weekend:

2019-10-05 15.43.12
Boats and BirdsCollapse )
Thursday, 10th October 2019 12:42 am - Poem for Thursday and Yom Kippur
Grand SlamCollapse )

Nice day though I did little formal observation of Yom Kippur, little fasting, some reading, walk in the park, breaking the fast with parents plus their very longtime friends and the children and grandchildren of those friends, The Masked Singer, then the Nationals-Dodgers game which is currently in the 10th after disastrous early innings, then a great 8th for the Nats followed by a grand slam in the 10th. (My poor uncle and cousin, Dodgers fans, are at this game in L.A.!)

IMG_1955A
Breaking the FastCollapse )
Wednesday, 9th October 2019 12:39 am - Poem for Wednesday and Wizarding Bank
From 'Goblin Market'Collapse )

My day before Yom Kippur was not exciting, though I also wasn't particularly introspective -- anytime I try to think Deep Thoughts these days, I start thinking about the environment and the border and the suspension of the Constitution by people sworn to uphold it, and how I can't even read the Twitter and Facebook pages of people I like because even though we basically believe the same things, there's so much hate for candidates they still swear they'll vote for in the general if they can't knock them out in the primary, and I can feel my blood pressure shooting up. So I try only to think about things while I'm doing something productive.

The weather was lovely again -- a bit of drizzle but mostly overcast and cool, very autumnal. There was a Mewtwo raid hour just before dinnertime, at which I caught shiny Mewtwos, then leftover Asian food from Sunday (I'm not fasting because it gives me migraines to drop my blood sugar that much and that does not make me feel like atoning for anything). We watched the season premiere of The Flash, which was okay, and the newest episode of Emergence, which doubled its overnight ratings in weekly viewings so maybe it's okay that it's giving up its secrets so slowly. From Chestertown's wizarding festival, here's the goblin bank:

2019-10-05 14.36.39
Formerly GringottsCollapse )
Tuesday, 8th October 2019 01:06 am - Poem for Tuesday and Cabin John Frogs
Frog in PondCollapse )

Monday was not eventful here, nice and cool, a bit of rain though not at any point when I was out, perfect day for a walk in the park where I did a couple of raids with GroupMe friends and saw a trio of frogs in the little tadpole pond behind Locust Grove Nature Center:

2019-10-07 17.08.36
Frog TrioCollapse )


We watched most of the Nationals' victory (a must-win game that my dad was at) with breaks for the season premiere of Black Lightning, whose mythology has gotten a lot more complicated since last season (are they part of the Crisis on Infinite Earths?). So go Nats!
Monday, 7th October 2019 12:01 am - Greetings from Thurmont
It rained on and off most of Sunday, though it was nice and cool, so not unpleasant to be outside except during the brief periods when it was really pouring. After a quiet morning, we went to meet Paul's parents at Simply Asia in Thurmont, where we ate lunch while watching Washington-New England on one TV and Baltimore-Pittsburgh on the other (the latter ended well in overtime, the former started slow until DC remembered who they were and started playing terribly). We walked to nearby Baskin Robbins, which now has dairy-free ice cream, so my father-in-law can have it for dessert.

2019-10-06 14.43.02

2019-10-06 14.18.44

2019-10-06 15.32.51

2019-10-04 17.46.18

Before leaving Thurmont, we briefly skyped Daniel, who is on call this weekend, and Maddy, who was on her way out (Adam was already out). Then we came home for some chores, late football games, and sandwiches for dinner since we were full from lunch. We watched the start of the CW season, beginning with Batwoman, which I liked a lot -- I was hoping Alice would be a recurring character and it sure looks like she will -- and Supergirl, which had lovely Kara/Lena moments. We also watched the beginning of the final season of Madam Secretary, which is as unbelievable and as enjoyable as ever!
Sunday, 6th October 2019 12:57 am - Greetings from Chestertown
As we did last year, we went with Cheryl to Chestertown's Harry Potter festival, though this year, for legal reasons, it's called Chestertown's Wizarding Weekend. We had met a couple of vendors at Annmarie Gardenfest who said they had heard the whole event was canceled, so we were afraid there wouldn't be many vendors, but there were plenty, and this year they were all along the streets instead of mostly packed into the park (where we ate lunch and drank butterbeer around the fountain). We visited the Goblins & Galleons (formerly Gringotts) Bank for free chocolate galleons, took a British trivia quiz, got our pictures taken with Lucius Malfoy, Severus Snape, and Rita Skeeter, and bought a few fannish charms.

2019-10-05 12.47.30
Maryland MagicCollapse )


Plus we walked past the don't-call-it-Quidditch pitch to the waterfront to see the boats and shore birds. Because we had to go over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge to get home from Chestertown, we decided to have dinner at the Harris Crab House, which is where we stopped on the way home from Delaware at the end of the summer because in addition to crabs they have veggie burgers and hush puppies with Old Bay as well as views of the boats and cormorants. We also had lovely views from the bridge, though it clouded up as we headed west. Cheryl left for Virginia and Paul and I watched the second season of Fleabag, which in parts is more painful but in many ways is better than the first.
Saturday, 5th October 2019 12:26 am - Poem for Saturday and Chihuly Spheres
Sonnet for a SphereCollapse )

It is magnificently cool and finally October-ish at last! My Friday was not exciting, just shopping and chores, but it was very nice weather to be doing them in. We had dinner with my parents, watched some of the Nationals game, took a break to watch most of the first season of Fleabag, then went back to see if the Nats were doing better against the Dodgers than on Thursday night.

I forgot to mention the one stupid good thing that has happened since we got home: my computer with the broken screen is suddenly, knock wood, working fine. The brightness adjustment control no longer takes up a huge portion of the screen and in fact I can adjust the brightness -- no idea what happened there! From Seattle, here are some of Chihuly's glass spheres:

2019-09-28 17.37.27
Garden and GlassCollapse )
Friday, 4th October 2019 01:36 am - Poem for Friday and Ballard Locks
A Fish AnswersCollapse )

Thursday was more tolerable outdoors than Wednesday but I wasn't out much because once again Verizon decided to try to persuade me that we really don't need cable; all our services went out this morning, internet, TV, and phone together, and after two hours of phone calls to people who kept asking me to do things online to test that I couldn't do because, duh, no cable, I got Paul to run a remote online diagnostic at work, which led to him doing a phone diagnostic, which led to them finding a problem in the line and fixing it remotely while I was still arguing with the tech people who were insisting they couldn't come out to the house to figure out what was wrong till later in the week. I still have laundry to fold but I had to go to the park after that!

I know, I am all complaints this week! I have a couple of friends dealing with major stuff and Paul is still working on sleep apnea issues, all of which is giving me stress, and it's depressing having winter coming with no exciting plans yet for the spring since we're still trying to figure out everyone's schedules and such. We watched most of the Nationals' loss to the Dodgers, interspersed with the Seahawks' come-from-behind victory over the Rams, eventually back and forth with Noah and Colbert because I needed to hear Trump mocked as he deserves. Here are some photos of the animals at Ballard Locks in Seattle's Lake Washington, including salmon in the fish ladder and (you can see a sea lion's tail in the last one if you look closely):

2019-09-29 16.07.27
Locks and LadderCollapse )
This page was loaded Oct 23rd 2019, 12:58 pm GMT.