?

Log in

No account? Create an account
The Little Review
Making No Compromises With the Public Taste
Most Recent Entries 
Wednesday, 15th May 2019 12:49 am - Poem for Wednesday and Brookside Flowers
I Years Had Been From HomeCollapse )

Months after the leak that required the new roof and major upheaval in our home, Daniel's childhood bedroom once again has a closet! The room has been painted, so nothing has been replaced yet (and there are lots of things that need to be sorted for donation or shipping to Seattle), but we have insulation in the ceiling again so it won't be painfully cold or hot in there if we want to have guests and there isn't any exposed wood. Unfortunately, this took all day, so I did not get out even when the rain stopped.

When the painters finally left, we ate leftovers while watching the season finale of The Flash, which was reasonably satisfying though I wasn't as moved as I suspect the producers hoped -- I don't think I'm capable of crying over superhero deaths, they come back too often during sweeps months. Then we watched The 100, those kids just can't catch a break though at least they're resilient, and Fosse/Verdon, which is always superbly done and heartbreaking. Here are flowers from Brookside Gardens last weekend:

DSCN7444
In BloomCollapse )
Tuesday, 14th May 2019 01:26 am - Poem for Tuesday and Brookside Geese
Birds Punctuate the DaysCollapse )

I stayed up way too late on Sunday night watching the Game of Thrones rebroadcast after reading a lot of internet hysteria about the episode so I am kind of sleepy, but I slept better understanding what people were so mad about. (Having only watched the first season up until Sean Bean's last episode, I was always rooting for them to throw the Iron Throne into the sea and form an automonous collective, and I am wondering whether that's kind of the point of the show, though I reserve the right to a feminist rant if what I think is going to happen does happen next week.)

Anyway, it was a slow day, since my cats were cold this morning and three of them did not want to let me get out of bed, so I ran behind on article stuff and the laundry isn't even folded. But I had a nice evening, since I had plans with Angela and Carrie for dinner. We met at Chuy's, and I went to the shopping center a bit early because I had a World Market coupon, but I ended up not getting anything besides a bunch of Pokemon. Chuy's has a nacho bar at happy hour, which is a very dangerous thing! And I had cheese enchiladas, which were very good.

I got home just in time for Legends of Tomorrow, which is always fun, then we caught up on last night's A Discovery of Witches, which was more violent onscreen than I thought was necessary, particularly since they felt compelled to bleep the one instance of the F word in the episode. After that, we watched most of The Enemy Within, which no one is sure whether it's ending next week or getting picked up for another season. If they have a finale that explains why Erica does what she does, I'm fine either way. From Brookside Gardens, so many geese!

DSCN7481
Parents and BabiesCollapse )
Monday, 13th May 2019 01:13 am - Greetings from Hanover
I spent Mother's Day with my parents, Paul's parents, and Adam in Hanover, where we went to lunch at the Hibachi Buffet Grill, then Skyped with Daniel before coming home. Adam had arrived with the good news (and a certificate) that he will be graduating Cum Laude in a couple of weeks. He gave me a bowl he made in a pottery class he and Katherine have been taking this semester. My mother gave me a turtle ring she knew I wanted (I gave her a charm with the birthstones of her children and grandchildren) and we got Paul's mother a puzzle and photo note pad with her grandchildren.

2019-05-12 16.26.17
Family CelebratingCollapse )


We weren't very hungry for dinner after such a big lunch, so after Adam headed back to College Park and his final papers and presentation, Paul and I had sandwiches while watching Supergirl, which did some stupid things with the aliens but gave Alex and Lena such nice moments that I forgave them, and Les Miserables, in which Javert is even more psychologically and homoerotically obsessed with Valjean than in most of the movie versions. But I gather that no one else will have seen that, because everyone watched Game of Thrones and is screaming about that all over the internet.
Sunday, 12th May 2019 12:55 am - Greetings from Brookside Gardens and Ryme City
The morning weather forecast indicated that it would not rain until evening, so after an early lunch, a cleaning of the entire first floor of the house due to a cat who ate too much, and an EX raid in Cabin John Park, we went to Brookside Gardens to see whether we could find the goslings there. We found six families of them! Plus we saw many baby turtles (and rescued two of them from sidewalks where people were riding scooters), many adult turtles, frogs, herons, snakes, fish, flowers, and a wedding:

2019-05-11 14.55.44A
Turning Into SummerCollapse )


Then we went to see Pokémon: Detective Pikachu, where we ran into a couple of the people from my Pokémon raiding group. I loved the movie, which has lots of references to the anime my kids grew up watching; it's a little predictable and quite goofy but it has a great cast and I bet people who grew up playing the game caught even more references. We ran into my parents while having dinner in the food court afterward, then came home and watched Mewtwo Strikes Back, to which the new film is a direct sequel.
Saturday, 11th May 2019 12:38 am - Poem for Saturday and Richmond Roses
The Lover Tells Of The Rose In His HeartCollapse )

I had kind of a quiet Friday -- bunch of things that had to get done at home, then a quick trip to Cabin John Center for a raid and Cabin John Park for a walk before it started raining so hard that I had to sit in the car for a while so I didn't have to walk to the door in it, then more chores. We had dinner with my parents and came home to more rain. My father was talking about watching Gambit on Netflix, which put me in the mood for it.

We watched the return of Agents of SHIELD which I found confusing because I couldn't remember who was where and when at the end of last season, nor where the timeline fits with the MCU timeline -- is it in an alternate reality now? Then we watched the aforementioned Gambit, which was as funny as I had remembered and ends with a Donald Trump insult-joke that I had completely forgotten! Here are the amazing roses at Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden:

DSCN7337
Coming Up RosesCollapse )
Friday, 10th May 2019 01:13 am - Poem for Friday and Garrett Park Azaleas
NatureCollapse )

My Thursday involved a lot of boring medical stuff, since I had to get one test done and my doctor had the results of my blood work from last week -- she wasn't happy with my blood sugar, which would be less of an issue if I didn't have diabetes in my extended family, and I'm at the point where I'm balancing two friends who've had catastrophic health problems from weight loss surgery against the many who are on Facebook bragging about how much weight they have lost after surgery with casual effort, since the two times in my life I've lost significant weight, I had to eat under 900 calories a day for weeks no matter how much I was exercising, and that's just not sustainable especially now that I don't eat meat.

Otherwise I had a couple of shopping stops to make, some pet arrangements to work on for when we travel this summer, and a bunch of boring chores. We watched Cloak & Dagger, which I almost turned off during one scene because the kidnapped girls storyline was pushing my this-is-getting-exploitative-for-television buttons in a way that really pisses me off, and if they hadn't mostly wrapped that storyline up, I'm not sure I'd keep watching the show. Then we watched some of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony and performances. Here are some photos from a couple of weeks ago of the azaleas around Garrett Park, the former railroad town now famous for being an arboretum community:

2019-04-27 15.05.40
Garrett ParkCollapse )
Thursday, 9th May 2019 01:24 am - Poem for Thursday and Richmond Animals
The Vampire BrideCollapse )

I had a relaxing Wednesday, a nice change from other parts of the week! I had lunch with my neighbor Carole at Om, an Indian restaurant I had not visited before (their malai kofta is exceptional) and caught up on our various house and travel plans, then ran into her again later when I went to do an Azelf raid en route to McDonalds to see whether they had Black Widow Avengers toys (they did not, but Paul got fries so it was okay). We caught up on Billions and Gentleman Jack -- both shows about people who don't know how lucky they are, though Anne Lister is a hell of a lot more interesting than anyone on Wall Street, real or fictional.

Then we watched this week's utterly awesome What We Do in the Shadows with amazing guest cast of vampires from Dave Bautista to Tilda Swinton to Evan Rachel Wood to Taika Waititi to Wesley Snipes! And it had everything from Colin trying to bore vampires to death to the vagina tree garden to an insane dance sequence! After the undead reunion in this episode, I now dare to expect an episode next season with Kristen Stewart, David Boreanaz, and Tom Hiddleston, if not Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt, and Kirsten Dunst who really should reprise Louis, Lestat, and Claudia. From Richmond, animals we saw at Maymont and Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens:

DSCN7376
Spring EmergingCollapse )
Wednesday, 8th May 2019 01:41 am - Poem for Wednesday and Goddesses
Athena OdeCollapse )

I spent a ridiculous amount of Tuesday arguing online with Amazon, Shutterfly, and an Etsy seller about Things Not Working The Way They Are Supposed To, from a Disney movie that won't play on Movies Anywhere to a photo book that wouldn't save changes to a Mother's Day present that now looks like it may not be here for Mother's Day, and this continued late into the night. So I am declaring myself 100% DONE this week with all purchase-related nonsense.

We watched The Flash and The 100, though I was pretty distracted messaging with employees of various companies mentioned above so I couldn't pass a test about what happened on either though I think they were pretty okay episodes, then we watched Fosse/Verdon which was much more conventional than the previous episode but not particularly less sad. Here are some photos of happy retail experiences, goddess statues from Brigid's Grove:

2019-05-03 11.20.06
Isis Astarte Diana HecateCollapse )
Tuesday, 7th May 2019 01:21 am - Poem for Tuesday and Washingtonian Goslings
The Tune of The Wild Geese's TombCollapse )

On Monday we had to wait all morning for the roofing company to find the right size pipe to replace the one they apparently cracked when installing the roof, but eventually they appeared with tall ladders, got up on the roof, and hopefully fixed the leak once and for all, though we won't be certain until we get another hard rainstorm. I spent all day in the house waiting for them to finish, then when Paul got home from a post-work late-afternoon dentist appointment, we went to the food store.

Somehow despite being stuck in the house all day I was sluggish and got little done, so although we watched Legends of Tomorrow, I am a bit confused about the whole hell/demonic possession storyline because I was trying to catch up on email. Then we watched the awesome new Discovery of Witches with the awesome Lindsay Duncan, followed by The Enemy Within, which is playing coy about whose side Erica is really on. From Washingtonian Lake the weekend before last, goslings and their parents:

DSCN6936
Goose BabiesCollapse )
Monday, 6th May 2019 12:26 am - Poem for Monday and Frustrating Sunday
After a RainstormCollapse )

We had ambitious plans for Sunday -- we were going to go to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival, then to my in-laws' for an early dinner, and we were going to do this despite the rain that fell all night and all morning -- but once again we could hear dripping behind one of the bedroom walls, and when we checked the attic, there was water collecting beneath the brand new many-thousand-dollar roof. So instead we spent the morning firing off furious emails and social media comments to the roofers, since they don't have any sort of emergency numbers, eventually attracting their attention so they could send someone out with a ladder by 3 p.m.

Turns out they apparently cracked one of the pipes connected to the air conditioning system while installing the roof, and the crack was letting the water in. So they put up a tarp and they're coming to replace the pipe tomorrow. Since the whole day was gone by the time they left, we went out for a few minutes for provisions, then came home, ate leftover tacos for Cinco de Mayo, and watched Supergirl (come out to Lena already!), Les Miserables (this Javert is even more homoerotic than in the Brick), and Last Week Tonight (in which John Oliver lambasts lethal injection). These were the happiest members of our household today:

2019-05-03 22.01.14
Fed On TimeCollapse )
This page was loaded May 25th 2019, 5:14 pm GMT.