green little review

Greetings from the Canal

Monday was a lovely cool day with occasional mist but very little actual rain. apaulled had the day off for Columbus Day/Indigenous Peoples' Day, so we did a bunch of chores in the morning, then left several boxes of books, games, and records at the Friends of the Library donation site. From there we stopped for gas and drove to the C&O Canal at Lockhouse 10, where we walked a couple of miles and saw several frogs, a few turtles, a little green heron, a couple of ducks, and various other animals enjoying early fall:

DSCN3754A
Collapse )


Our evening has involved juggling several sports events, since the Red Sox and Ravens were playing at the same time. The Ravens made some huge mistakes and went down by a lot of points while the Sox were hot, so we got to see Boston clinch their series over the Rays, then we put Monday Night Football back on to see the Ravens make a great comeback, win the coin toss for overtime, and win the game. Now the Dodgers are in a close one with the Giants so we're watching that while reading about the Raiders bully coach leaving.
photos

Greetings from Sugarloaf

Extreme quickie as right now we are watching the first two episodes of La Brea and it might be worse than the Diana musical. We spent most of Sunday on the fall Countryside Artisans Tour -- Art of Fire was closed because their artisans are mostly at the Maryland Renfaire, but we went to Breezy Hill Farm to see sheep and alpacas, Heron's Meadow Farm for tea, Frisky's Animal Sanctuary to pick up items I won in their fundraising auction online, Something Earthy Farm and Studio to look at pottery and listen to live music, and Dancing Leaf Farm to see the animals and yarns.

Then we stopped at Giant, came home for dinner, talked for five minutes to younger son who's in Florida with his girlfriend visiting her relatives, talked for five minutes to older son who's trying to buy plane tickets to visit for the holidays and Magfest, and watched The Courier, in which Benedict Cumberbatch and Rachel Brosnahan try to stop the Cuban Missile Crisis. That one, at least, I recommend! A few photos of the farms in order plus Sugarloaf Mountain:

2021-10-10 13.39.58
Collapse )
get critical

Greetings from Netflix

Saturday was Pokemon Community Day for October, so I spent a bunch of time catching Duskulls and evolving them. While doing that, we took a walk in Cabin John Park, went to MicroCenter, Trader Joe's and World Market, stopped at a vegetable cart, sorted records down the basement, and tried to keep the cats fed. We had Swedish (fake) chicken with quinoa for dinner. And then we watched Diana: The Musical, which I wound up discussing with four people simultaneously, including someone I know who worked on the show in previews before the pandemic, my good friend in London, my biggest musical theater fan friend, and a friend who hates both musicals and royals so is perversely a fan of the musical. ScreenCrush says, "‘Diana: The Musical’ Is So Bad It Makes ‘Cats’ Look Good"!

Collapse )
jewitch

Poem for Saturday and Miners Landing

Collapse )

Friday had similar lovely cool weather to Thursday, so it was nice to go out. We had to go to our bank branch, which is closing to move to a new location, and we tried to get Beyond Sausage sandwiches at Dunkin' but apparently they no longer carry them in east coast stores, which makes me unhappy. I spent a lot of the afternoon fighting with Facebook uploading photos from our Seattle trip, which is only about 1/3 done because Facebook is Facebook, then we ate Chinese food at my parents' house.

The Red Sox were losing when we left my parents' house, but we came home and watched the rest of the game which they won by a lot -- not that that makes up for the White Sox losing earlier. Now we're catching up on the Supergirl episodes we've missed because I want to see what Morgana I mean Lena does with her newfound powers as a witch. Here are some photos from Miners Landing in Seattle, where we ate Alaska Sourdough, admired the Great Wheel, and took very tasteful photos with Gold Rush statues:

2021-09-25 14.18.06
Collapse )
get critical

Poem for Friday and SAM Porcelain

Collapse )

The weather on Thursday was spectacular, neither too warm nor too cool, and my friend Mary from Ohio was visiting her mother nearby, so we met for a picnic and a walk at Cabin John Park, which was the perfect way to spend this afternoon. Most of the rest of my day involved a big cleaning project in the kitchen -- we took out the TV in there that we never turn on because it's not on the cable, which gave us more counter space and better lighting but exposed a lot that needed to be cleaned.

We watched the end of the White Sox loss to the Astros, boo, and the beginning of the Red Sox loss to the Rays, also boo, around the middle of the Seahawks loss to the Rams, boo. I could afford to jump around because I had my fannish friends' chat at 9, then What We Do in the Shadows at 10:30 (Catherine Cohen is not as sexy a siren as Elsa Pataky in Tidelands). From the Seattle Art Museum's Porcelain Room, which has more than a thousand pieces mostly made in Asia and exported to Europe:

2021-09-25 12.25.59
Collapse )
get critical

Poem for Thursday and Disney Costumes

Collapse )

We had rain early Wednesday and it was damp and overcast all day. My morning was uneventful, then I chatted at lunchtime with my three good friends from high school while eating an eggwich, with assistance from my cats. In the late afternoon, we took a walk in the gorgeous not-too-warm weather and watched leaves fall. Then we had pasta for National Pasta Day and watched The Masked Singer, which for once cut the right person, and later we watched LEGO Star Wars Terrifying Tales, which is pretty goofy overall but has some hilarious moments mocking Luke being emo, Kyle being emo, and Vader being a good daddy! Plus Leia briefly kicks butt!

I don't have anything profound to say about the season finale of What If...? except that I'm glad it turned out to be a series instead of a set of one-offs (honestly, you'd think critics had never heard of Star Trek: The Next Generation or any other show with both standalone and arc episodes). I love Peggy and Natasha in every universe, T'Challa's last MCU appearance is to try to save the multiverse, I don't mind Party Thor being an idiot, I'm not sorry about the missing Gamora episode because we get that next season (and we get a next season)! And we just watched the Dodgers beat the Cardinals! From MoPop's Disney costume exhibit:

DSCN3208
Collapse )
trek

Poem for Wednesday and Pike Place Market

Collapse )

Tuesday was drizzly in the morning so I spent some of it reading, some of it dyeing my roots, and some of it finishing the many laundries of the past couple of weeks, plus I rearranged some of my Renfaire jewelry after having taken it out for the fests. In the afternoon I did some organizing in the basement and we took a walk to enjoy the cool weather -- only one bunny was enjoying it with us.

We ate leftover pizza for dinner because we were tight on time; I watched Voyager's excellent Holocaust-themed episode "Remember" with my Tuesday watching group, and we chatted about books and theater and things. Then we watched the Red Sox knock the Yankees out of the postseason, which was lovely. Here are some photos from Pike's Place Market last month, including the chewing gum wall:

2021-09-25 13.45.39
Collapse )
photos

Poem for Tuesday and Cabin John Park

Collapse )

Monday involved lots of laundry from the Renfaires, and since I still had clothes out from traveling to Seattle, I figured it was a good day for an annual purge of things I never wear. That took up a lot of the morning, then I did some work and sorted photos from the weekend. When Paul finished work for the day, we went for a walk at Cabin John Park, where the leaves were just starting to turn and things were being set up for the haunted train ride for Halloween.

2021-10-04 18.05.40
Collapse )


We stopped at Giant on the way home to get lots of cat food and some human food as well, then Paul made tacos for dinner because it was National Taco Day. By the time we were finished, Facebook, Messenger, and Instagram had returned from their many hours down, so I chatted briefly with a couple of friends. Then we watched the rest of this season of Sex Education and I'm glad we waited until it was renewed or I'd have been stressed out wanting resolution!
green little review

Greetings from Crownsville

Sunday was warmer than Saturday but still very nice out, and we spent most of it at the Maryland Renaissance Festival with Cheryl and Lin. We saw the Piper Jones Band, Vixens En Garde, Matt Pauli's Pirate Escapes, NoBeard and Gwendolyn doing famous death scenes, Shakespeare's Skum's Leave It To Hamlet, Painted Trillium, some street performances, some juggling acts, potters, glassblowers, dressmakers, King Henry, the court, and we ate falafel and roasted nuts and tried on fancy hats and perfume oils.

2021-10-03 13.55.54
Collapse )


Our cats did not starve quite as much because we were home for the start of the New England-Tampa Bay game (I rooted for Brady over Belichick mostly because that's a better result for the Ravens, so that worked out), and we interrupted the game to watch the season finale of Billions which is somewhat over the top but reasonably satisfying. John Oliver's show about DuPont and chemical crimes won't be news to anyone who saw Dark Waters, but it's still well done and worth watching. And we ate leftovers for dinner. More tomorrow!
lrpenguin

Greetings from Pennsylvania

Have spent a lovely day at the Pennsylvania Renaissance Faire with Paul, where we met Cheryl and Lin around lunchtime. We saw Adamo Ignis the fire juggler/dancer, the abbreviated Comedy of Errors at the Globe Theatre, Wine and Alchemy performing music and bellydancing, the falconer, and the late joust with its explosions and fireworks, and we ate grilled cheese and chocolate covered cheesecake. Now we are skyping Daniel who is trying to figure out his travel schedule for December/January and we're getting up early for the Maryland fest, so here are photos of us having fun!

2021-10-02 13.35.56A
Collapse )